Avid celebrates BAFTA wins for Media Composer and Pro Tools users

Avid is celebrating its customers’ successes at this year’s BAFTA Film Awards.

The company’s Media Composer and Pro Tools products were used by winners and nominees in all sound and editing production craft categories.

The BAFTA Film Award for Editing went to Jonathan Amos, ACE and Paul Machliss, ACE for Baby Driver (pictured) who used Media Composer to edit this blockbuster film.

“Without Media Composer, I simply could not have worked in the manner that was required,” said Machliss. “The ability to edit in a ‘near-live’ environment allowed a unique blending of production and post-production that contributed to the film’s success. I’m honoured to be recognised by BAFTA.”

Additionally, all nominees for the BAFTA Film Award for Editing also used Media Composer to cut their films, including Joe Walker, ACE for Blade Runner 2049, Lee Smith, ACE for Dunkirk, Sidney Wolinsky, ACE for The Shape of Water, and Jon Gregory, ACE for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

The BAFTA Best Sound Award went to Richard King, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo, and Mark Weingarten for Dunkirk who relied on Avid’s Pro Tools to bring their soundtracks to life.

BAFTA Sound nominees Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill, Mac Ruth and Mark Mangini from sound post-production company Formosa Group, mixed Blade Runner 2049 using two Pro Tools | S6 consoles.

Supervising Sound Editor Mark Mangini commented: “BLADE RUNNER 2049 takes place in a dystopian future that began life in the imaginations of our writer and director. Acoustically a blank slate, and relying on our own imaginations, Theo Green and I spent months designing the hundreds of unique sounds and textures that make up this one-of-a-kind aural universe. Utilising Avid Pro Tools, we formed evocative sound ‘compositions’ that expanded the frame to create an immersive reality for that which wasn’t seen…or never has been.”

Fellow sound editing nominees and Avid users also included Christian Cooke, Glen Gauthier, Nathan Robitaille, Brad Zoern for The Shape of Water, Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood for Star Wars: The Last Jedi and Tim Cavagin, Mary H. Ellis, Julian Slater for Baby Driver.

“Every awards season Avid’s talented customer community comes out strong to win recognition for creations that amaze audiences around the world,” said Avid President, Jeff Rosica.

“Avid congratulates these storytellers for their outstanding work. It’s our extreme honour to provide the tools, platform and ecosystem that are part of their creative processes.”


About Laura Barnes 427 Articles
Founder/Publisher of UK musical instrument industry publication MI Focus.